Things to Do

EDINBURGH                             

Check out the  What’s On Page  and   FREE   pages  as well

If you are doing a lot of tourist sights, you might be better off buying on of THESE passes.  Best to purchase it in advance if you are flying in as the airport bus is free and will save you a further £3 each way  :)    Entry included to all main tourist sights in the city (not Castle though), and if you book with tour companies when your card is valid you can get 20% off them, for example – Timberbush Tours      The Sea Fari tours alone cost £20 and Zoo entry over £10 so they are very good value.  Keep checking the website as sometimes they do passes cheaper (3 days for price of 2) 

Undiscovered Scotland information on Edinburgh   HERE

Edinburgh Webcam – HERE   and other Glasgow, Loch Ness, Gleneagles, Gretna

 

THESE ARE IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER, READ DOWN TO THE BOTTOM.

Musical Tours of Edinburgh   http://www.oortours.com/    Review   HERE

Stramash Scots Music Show  –  Information HERE    – review to follow soon

Edinburgh Castle   http://www.edinburghcastle.gov.uk/

Edinburgh Zoo    http://www.edinburghzoo.org.uk/

National Galleries   http://www.nationalgalleries.org/

Edinburgh Bus Tour   http://www.edinburghtour.com/

Scottish Story Telling Centre  http://www.scottishstorytellingcentre.co.uk/

Museum of Childhood  http://www.cac.org.uk/

Information on all museums on the Royal Mile  PDF    Click Here

Edinburgh Military Tattoo   http://www.edinburgh-tattoo.co.uk/

Botanic Gardens  http://www.rbge.org.uk/  (Lots of events on here)

Walk in Princes Street Gardens, down The Royal Mile and up Calton Hill

The Meadows  – info HERE

Mary King’s Close   http://www.realmarykingsclose.com/

St Giles Cathedral   http://www.stgilescathedral.org.uk/

Greyfriars Bobby  http://www.greyfriarsbobby.co.uk/  Article here  and Greyfriars Kirk

Witchery Tour   http://www.witcherytours.com/    The best one.  Review here

Comedy Club –   The Stand    http://www.thestand.co.uk/    (Free on Sunday Lunchtimes)

Artificial Ski Slope  –  Midlothian   HERE

Holyrood Park & Arthurs Seat – Review here        Info and walks suggestions  pdf  HERE

(visit Edinburghs’  Oldest Pub The Sheep Heid Inn at same time   here  )

Calton Hill  – Info HERE

Bus Tours   http://www.edinburghtour.com/

Whisky Experience  http://www.whisky-heritage.co.uk/

Holyrood Palace – website  here and info here

Musical Tours of Edinburgh   http://www.oortours.com/      REVIEW

The Scottish Parliament  http://www.scottish.parliament.uk/

Camera Obscura   http://www.camera-obscura.co.uk/

The Royal Observatory    http://www.roe.ac.uk/    &    Public Evenings

Edinburgh Canal Society    HERE       Hire a boat on a Sunday

Ice Skating   http://www.murrayfieldicerinkltd.co.uk/

Indoor skate boarding / BMX ramps   http://www.transgressionpark.co.uk/

Free Golf / Pitch n Putt  at   Bruntsfield Links

Inverleith Park – Review here  

At Christmas time, Winter Wonderland   Review here

The Grassmarket  http://www.grassmarket.net/ 

Holyrood Abbey   http://www.holyroodabbey.org/

St Giles Catherdral  http://www.stgilescathedral.org.uk/

Gladst0ne’s Land   http://www.nts.org.uk/Property/25/

Inchcolm Island   http://www.maidoftheforth.co.uk/

Fruitmarket Gallery   http://www.fruitmarket.co.uk/

National Museum of Scotland, Chambers Street  – Info  HERE

Ratho Adventure Centre   / Climbing Walls     http://www.eica-ratho.com/

Sea Adventures on the Forth   http://www.seafari.co.uk/forth/tours.php

Public Golf Courses – http://www.edinburghleisure.co.uk/list-30

Caledonian Brewery –   http://www.caledonian-brewery.co.uk/home.php

Royal Yacht Britannia   http://www.royalyachtbritannia.co.uk/

Gorgie City Farm    Info   HERE  – Review   HERE

Corstorphine Hill    Info   HERE

Museum on the Mound (see a million pounds !!)   Info   HERE

Scotlands People Centre  http://www.scotlandspeoplehub.gov.uk/index.html

Edinburgh’s Museums  http://www.cac.org.uk/

Horse Racing at Musselburgh    Info HERE 

Camera Obscura   http://www.camera-obscura.co.uk/

Brass Rubbing Centre  – Info   HERE

Swim in an Olympic Sized Pool –    HERE   (currently under refurbishment)

Walk along the Water of Leith    http://www.waterofleith.org.uk/

Edinburgh Printmakers Workshop –  HERE

Lauriston Castle   http://www.cac.org.uk/venues/lauriston.htm

3D Loch Ness Experience   http://www.3dlochness.com/

Edinburgh Dungeons   HERE

Craigmillar Castle,   Information  HERE

Dynamic Earth   http://www.dynamicearth.co.uk/

The Ceramic Experience  http://www.theceramicexperience.co.uk/

Edinburgh Farmers Market  http://www.edinburghfarmersmarket.com/

Butterfly and Insect World   http://www.edinburgh-butterfly-world.co.uk/

FREE walking tour of Edinburgh  http://www.newedinburghtours.com/ 

Cousland Smiddy, Dalkeith  http://www.cousland.net/smiddy.htm

Rankin and Rebus Edinburgh Info – HERE

Forth Rail Bridge and Forth Road Bridge

Real Mary King’s Close  http://www.realmarykingsclose.com/

Royal Scottish Academy  http://www.royalscottishacademy.org/

The Royal Mile  http://www.edinburgh-royalmile.com/

http://www.caledonian-brewery.co.uk/

28 Charlotte Square

Gladstone’s Land

 

 

 

Also check out the EXERCISE page  – HERE for reviews and photos of walks in and around Edinburgh.

Even more ideas  HERE and Edinburgh Couchsurfing’s ideas  HERE